SERRES (J. de). The Theatre of Agriculture... - Lot 169 - De Baecque et Associés

Lot 169
Got to lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 16 000EUR
SERRES (J. de). The Theatre of Agriculture... - Lot 169 - De Baecque et Associés
SERRES (J. de). The Theatre of Agriculture and the Measurement of Fields.
Paris, Iamet Metayer, 1600.
In folio of [16]-1004-[20] pages, light calf, Renaissance iron gilt on the covers, spine with ornate nerves (period binding).
Extremely rare first edition.
It is decorated with an engraved title by Mallery, surmounted by a small full-length portrait of King Henri IV, 8 woodcut vignettes and woodcut figures in the text showing the plans of the medicinal garden.
THIS IS THE FIRST FRENCH BOOK CONSACRATED TO AGRICULTURE; it enjoyed an extraordinary success during 3 centuries. It testifies to the agricultural recovery of France after the events of the Wars of Religion and Olivier de Serres introduces new notions: fallow land, the necessity of deep soil clearing, the distinction of exhausting plants, the foundation of the theory of crop rotation.
He recommended the sulphurization of vines and advocated new crops. Hops, corn, rice, beetroot, recently imported and whose juice he points out is "similar to a sugar syrup".
Olivier de Serres' prose is full of charm and Henri IV had a passage read to him every day. Fine old restorations in the margins of the first 4 leaves, small light marginal rings at the head without affecting the text. Important old restorations well executed on the spine, the copy is in good margins. (In French in the text n° 79).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

SERRES (J. de). Le Théâtre d'Agriculture... - Lot 169 - De Baecque et Associés

Lot 169
Aller au lot
Estimation :
6000 - 8000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 16 000EUR
SERRES (J. de). Le Théâtre d'Agriculture... - Lot 169 - De Baecque et Associés
SERRES (J. de). Le Théâtre d'Agriculture et mesnage des champs.
Paris, Iamet Metayer, 1600.
In folio de [16]-1004-[20] pages, veau clair, fer Renaissance doré sur les plats, dos à nerfs orné (reliure de l'époque).
Edition originale extrêmement rare.
Elle est ornée d'un titre gravé par Mallery, surmonté d'un petit portrait en pied du Roi Henri IV, de 8 vignettes gravées sur bois et de figures sur bois dans le texte montrant les plans du jardin médicinal.
C'EST LE PREMIER LIVRE FRANÇAIS CONSACRE A L'AGRICULTURE ; il bénéficia d'un extraordinaire succès pendant 3 siècles. Il témoigne du relèvement agricole de la France après les évènements des guerres de religion et Olivier de Serres y introduit des notions alors nouvelles : La jachère, la nécessité du défoncement profond de la terre, la distinction des plantes épuisantes, le fondement de la théorie des assolements.
Il recommande le soufrage des vignes et préconise des cultures nouvelles. Le houblon, le maïs, le riz, la betterave, récemment importée et dont il signale que le jus est " semblable à un sirop de sucre ".
La prose d'Olivier de Serres est pleine de charme et Henri IV s'en faisait lire un passage chaque jour. Fines restaurations anciennes en marge des 4 premiers feuillets, petits cernes clairs marginaux en tête sans atteinte au texte. Importantes restaurations anciennes bien exécutées au dos, l'exemplaire est à bonne marges. (En français dans le texte n° 79).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue