LESCARBOT (Marc). History of New France,... - Lot 145 - De Baecque et Associés

Lot 145
Got to lot
Estimation :
3000 - 5000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 35 000EUR
LESCARBOT (Marc). History of New France,... - Lot 145 - De Baecque et Associés
LESCARBOT (Marc). History of New France, containing the navigations, discoveries and settlements made by the French in the West Indies and New France...
Paris, Jean Milot, 1609.
Large volume in-8 of [48]-888 pages, ivory vellum, traces of laces (contemporary binding).
Very rare ORIGINAL EDITION of this landmark work on the French settlements in Canada. It is divided into three books: the first one reports on the voyages of Verrazano, Laudonnière, Gourgues and Villegagnon; the second one contains the voyages of Cartier, Roberval, De Monts, Poutrincourt and the first voyages of Champlain; and the third one offers a detailed description of the manners and customs of the Indians of Nova Scotia and of the St. Lawrence valley (costumes, hair, dances, hunting, fishing ...)
This lively and detailed account is illustrated with 2 folding maps (out of 3) engraved by Swedelinck from Lescarbot's drawings (Port de Guanabara, Port-Royal), the one of the Gulf of St. Lawrence is missing.
Also after Lescarbot: Les Muses de la Nouvelle France à Monseigneur le Chancelier. Idem, ibidem. The first 56 pages alone of this collection of several poems all celebrating events in New France.
Small losses at the top margin of the first leaves, several signatures disbound, very small loss at the edge of a map, a few brown spots, ex libris glued on the title, the copy is in its first vellum binding. (Sabin 40169).
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

LESCARBOT (Marc). Histoire de la Nouvelle... - Lot 145 - De Baecque et Associés

Lot 145
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 5000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 35 000EUR
LESCARBOT (Marc). Histoire de la Nouvelle... - Lot 145 - De Baecque et Associés
LESCARBOT (Marc). Histoire de la Nouvelle France, contenant les navigations, découvertes et habitations faites par les François ès Indes Occidentales et Nouvelle France...
Paris, Jean Milot, 1609.
Fort volume in-8 de [48]-888 pages, velin ivoire, traces de lacets (reliure de l'époque).
EDITION ORIGINALE très rare de cet ouvrage phare sur les implantations françaises au Canada. Il est divisé en trois livres: le premier rend compte des voyages de Verrazano, Laudonnière, Gourgues et Villegagnon; le second contient les voyages de Cartier, Roberval, De Monts, Poutrincourt et les premiers voyages de Champlain; et le troisième offre une description détaillée des moeurs et des coutumes des Indiens de la Nouvelle Écosse et de la vallée du Saint-Laurent (Costumes, chevelures, danses, chasses, pêches ...).
Ce récit vivant et abondant de détails est illustré de 2 cartes dépliantes (sur 3) gravées par Swedelinck d'après les dessins de Lescarbot (Port de Guanabara, Port-Royal), celle du golfe du Saint-Laurent est manquante.
A la suite également de Lescarbot : Les Muses de la Nouvelle France à Monseigneur le Chancelier. Idem, ibidem. Les 56 premières pages seules de ce recueil de plusieurs poèmes célébrant tous des événements en Nouvelle-France.
Petits manques en haut en marge des premiers feuillets, plusieurs cahiers déreliés, très petit manque en bordure d'une carte, quelques taches brunes, ex libris collé sur le titre, l'exemplaire est dans sa première reliure en velin. (Sabin 40169).
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue